Article Image

IPFS News Link • Entertainment: Sports

Patrick Mahomes wins Super Bowl 58 MVP: Chiefs QB joins Tom Brady, Joe Montana, 3-time award winners


The Kansas City Chiefs are a dynasty, and Patrick Mahomes strengthened his argument as one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time during Sunday's 25-22 OT win over the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl LVIII. 

Mahomes, whose game-winning touchdown pass to Mecole Hardman in overtime gave the Chiefs the win, has joined Tom Brady, Joe Montana, Terry Bradshaw and Troy Aikman as the only starting quarterbacks with at least three Super Bowl wins. He was named Super Bowl MVP for the third time, a feat only Brady (five time) and Montana (three times) have matched. 

While he won the game with his arm, Mahomes put himself and his team in position to win the game by making some key plays with his legs. His 19-yard run in overtime, for example, occurred three plays before his game-winning strike to Hardman with three seconds left in overtime.